Nicholas Institute for Environmental Policy Solutions

The Business of Reaching Net-Zero Emissions in Asia

Date and Time
Friday, March 19, 2021 - 9 a.m. to 11 a.m. China Standard Time (CST)
Location
Webinar
The Business of Reaching Net-Zero Emissions in Asia

About

Back to top

Actions from regional and international business communities are essential to meeting Asia’s nascent net-zero carbon emissions goals. With China, Japan, and the Republic of Korea all committing to carbon neutrality by mid-century, and pressure building for developing Asian countries to put forth more ambitious emissions reduction strategies, the region is entering a new era of climate change action. While strong attention is focused on the national climate policies of key Asian countries, it is the businesses operating within them – whether private or state-controlled, domestic or multinational – where much of the change must take place.
 
ClimateCAP is an initiative that explores the business implications of climate change, and the risks and opportunities that our changing climate creates. This event will advance this conversation in the Asian context, and seeks to provide students in particular with insights into how they might engage with climate challenges in their future careers. It consists of a panel webinar session followed by optional interactive breakout discussions for participants. The event will be conducted virtually in English, with simultaneous translation to Mandarin provided.

Sponsored by Duke University's Nicholas Institute for Environmental Policy Solutions, EDGE, and the Environmental Research Center at Duke Kunshan University.

Agenda

Back to top

Full Event

March 19, 9–11 a.m. China Standard Time (CST) / March 18, 6–8 p.m. Pacific Daylight Time (PDT) / March 18, 9–11 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time (EDT)

Webinar

Starts at 9 a.m. CST, March 19 / 6 p.m. PDT, March 18 / 9 p.m. EDT, March 18

Discussion Breakouts

Starts at 10:30 a.m. CST, March 19 / 7:30 p.m. PDT, March 18 / 10:30 p.m. EDT, March 18

Speakers

Back to top

Panelists:

  • Qian Wu, Consulting Director, Sustainability Strategy PwC Mainland China and Hong Kong
  • Caspar Chiquet, Environmental Products Originator, BP Shanghai
  • Rachel Fleishman, Head of Partnerships, Carbonless Asia
  • Jackson Ewing, Senior Fellow, Nicholas Institute of Environmental Policy Solutions, Duke University (moderator)

With introductory remarks by Daniel Vermeer, Associate Professor & Executive Director, Center for Energy, Development, and Global Environment (EDGE), Fuqua School of Business, Duke University.